[former] Dawley Green Wesleyan Methodist Chapel
This charming and unusual octagonal chapel was built in 1819 at the corner of the roads now known as Chapel Street and High Street. In 1851 it was reported to have seating for 240 worshippers.There were 90 worshippers at their morning service in March 1851 and 150 at their evening one. The last services were held here on the 4th March 1860 and demolition took place straight away afterwards. It was reported in 1860 that this chapel was opened by the Revd S. Taylor & still had a debt of £230 remaining on it then. The chapel was replaced in 1860 by a much larger chapel, built of polychrome brick. Click here for a view of this replacement chapel.