[former] Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Church Street, Madeley
On 16th July 1811 a meeting house in Madeley belonging to Mrs Mary Fletcher, widow, was licensed at quarter sessions by 12 local Methodists. Just prior to building a chapel the congregation met in an upper room in a dwelling house. They then built a charming chapel in the classical style in 1833 on land presented by the family of the late Mr Benjamin Smith. It was described at the time as "very neat and substantial", measuring 38 ft x 26 ft. and cost about £380. The chapel opened on the 14th August 1833, with a debt of only £100 remaining after donations of £280. Due to a greatly increasing congregation the chapel was soon outgrown and a grand new one was built in 1841. The 1833 chapel still stands & is now a private residence. The Madeley Local History website has a very nice drawing of the 1833 chapel by Maggie Humphry.
Grid ref: SJ 696042