[former] Newton on the Hill Presbyterian [Calvinistic Methodist] Church of Wales Chapel, in Myddle parish
This chapel was built in 1895. It replaced a chapel at Houlston about 1 mile to the NNW of Newton which was struggling hard for its existence by early 1894 when it only had one member and half a dozen worshippers. Land was bought from Mr Parker & tenders were invited from builders for a new chapel, cottage & stable in June 1895. The architects were A.B. & W. Scott Deakin of Shrewsbury. The memorial stone laying took place on 27th September of that year. A bottle containing a few facts relating to the origin and history of the cause at Houlston was deposited in a cavity. It was described at the time as "new and picturesque". On the 21st June 1902 the chapel was licensed for the solemnization of marriages. It seems very likely that the chapel at Newton closed c. 1920. Although the building is shown on the 1924 O.S. map it is not designated as a place of worship whereas in the 1900 map it is described as "Presbyterian". The congregation moved to the chapel in Harmer Hill which changed from being "Independent" to belonging to the Presbyterian Church of Wales in 1920. When seen in 2005 the chapel at Newton had been converted into residential use.
Grid ref: SJ 485235